LNAs with built-in bypass relays and RF VOX for 4m 2m 1.25m 70cm bands


In this project we are present a new version of the LNA with bypass relays and RF VOX. This construction is different from the previous version. It has different bypass relays (up to 100 Watts) and RF transceiver control circuit. Area of the application is utilization of the FM transceivers and radio stations (LPD, PMR). It’s possible to use LNA for civil LPD frequency band (433 – 435 MHz) and PMR frequency band (446 MHz) with usage of the feeder and stationary remote antenna. The solutions for other frequency ranges (4m, 2m, 1.25m and 70cm) are also available.

The LNA is manufactured based on PGA-103+ Mini-Circuits Monolithic Amplifier with high dynamic range.

RF VOX is designed for protection from accidental power supply to the LNA output. Because of RF VOX it is possible automatically switch LNA in TX mode (till 50 Watt) for the FM application. For the owners of the portable FM (LPD, PMR) radio stations it is sufficient to connect LNA to feeder and turn on power supply. RX/TX switching is automatic.

LNA simulation

Unfortunately Mini-circuits did not provide us with S2p files for the MMIC PGA-103+. Simulation was performed for the analogue MMIC SPF5122z.

Schematic of the LNA-2m is shown on Fig. 1.1 and Fig. 1.2

LNA 2m RF VOX schematics

Fig. 1.1 LNA 2m schematics

LNA 2m RF VOX filter schematics

Fig. 1.2 LNA 2m filter schematics

Simulation results based on LNA-2m (Fig. 2.1, Fig. 2.2, Fig. 2.3, Fig. 2.4)

Expected VSWR plot

Fig. 2.1 Expected VSWR plot

Expected NF plot

Fig. 2.2 Expected NF plot

Expected Stability plot

Fig. 2.3 Expected Stability plot

Expected S21 plot

Fig. 2.4 Expected S21 plot

According to the simulation results: NF < 0.3 dB, VSWR on the input and output is less than 1.5. Gain equals 23 dB. LNA is absolutely stable.

LNA 2m design features

LNA consists of the matching transforming circuit, MMIC PGA-103+, 6V voltage regulator, band-pass filter, bypass relays AXICOM IM2, RF VOX elements and power supply circuit by feeder reduction (Fig. 3). Values of the input circuit elements and band-pass filter depends of operating frequency range. Power supply of the LNA is 12 V DC. There is opportunity to connect power supply using RF feeder from transceiver or using power supply injector.

Block-diagram of the LNA is shown on Fig. 3

LNA 2m RF VOX schematic circuit

Fig. 3 LNA 2m schematic circuit

Without power supply LNA is working in «bypass» mode – power of the transceiver is directly going through the LNA to the antenna. In TX mode the LNA is turned off. RX mode is on in the case if power supply is turned on. For LNA switching it is necessary to disconnect power supply before transceiver power comes to the output. If TX mode is turned on without power supply disconnection the switching is performed using the RF VOX. It is necessary to understand that bypass relays are switching under RF load in the case of RF VOX is operating. In this case transceiver power should not exceed the 50 Watt.

LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX was successfully tested operating with 100 Watt transceiver IC910H. However it is not recommended permanently using RF VOX with this big power. Bad VSWR of the antenna can cause some issues with relay pins.

The PCB of the LNA has 60×32 mm dimensions. It is manufactured with 1 mm thickness FR4 substrate material with plated via holes and soldering mask. Inductances of the band-pass filter are high quality SMD 0805. The input inductance is designed with 0.8 mm wire.

LNA-2m PCB is shown on Fig. 4

Fig. 4 LNA 2m RF VOX PCB

Fig. 4 LNA 2m PCB

The housing of the LNA is manufactured from aluminum plate D16 by milling on the CNC machine. It has N-female input and output connectors. Power supply is designed through the feeder reduction or capacitor that mounted on the surface of the housing.

Conclusions

Easy installation while working without PA with transceiver or FM radio station. Protection against accidental flow transmitter output power to the LNA enhances operational reliability. RF VOX helps to work without RX/TX switching in FM mode. It’s possible to use LNA for civil LPD frequency band (433 – 435 MHz) and PMR frequency band (446 MHz) with usage of the feeder and stationary remote antenna.

Technical specifications of the LNA-2m

  • Model: LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX
  • Active element: PGA-103+
  • RF Power TX mode: 100 W (max), 50 W RF VOX
  • Gain: 22 dB
  • Noise Figure: < 0.6 dB
  • Output IP3: 38 dBm
  • P input: 21 dBm (max)
  • DC voltage: 12 V
  • DC current: 150 mA
  • Impedance: 50 ohms
  • RF connectors: N-female or SMA-female
  • Dimensions: 110 mm x 43 mm x 20 mm (with connectors)
  • Weight: 0.15 kg

Package includes

  • 1 x LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX

Technical specifications of the LNA-70cm

  • Model: LNA-70cm-75W-RF-VOX
  • Active element: PGA-103+
  • RF Power TX mode: 75 W (max), 50 W RF VOX
  • Gain: 20 dB
  • Noise Figure: < 0.8 dB
  • Output IP3: 39 dBm
  • P input: 21 dBm (max)
  • DC voltage: 12 V
  • DC current: 150 mA
  • Impedance: 50 ohms
  • RF connectors: N-female or SMA-female
  • Dimensions: 110 mm x 43 mm x 20 mm (with connectors)
  • Weight: 0.15 kg

Package includes

  • 1 x LNA-70cm-75W-RF-VOX

LNA for the other operating frequency bands is manufactured by pre-order only. All LNAs are designed with N-female connectors by default. If you need SMA connectors or other non-standard connectors – manufacturing is possible by pre-order only.

You can order this LNAs via e-mail: e-mail logo sales@vhfdesign.com or by filling out this form. You can check LNAs availability at stock here.

Technical support: e-mail logo us4ici@vhfdesign.com

Appearance

Will be here soon.

Leave a Comment

LNAs with built-in bypass relays and RF VOX for 4m, 2m, 1.25m and 70cm bands


В этом проекте представлена новая версия LNA с реле обхода и RF VOX. От описанной ранее конструкции он отличается другими реле обхода и иной схемой управления по несущей передатчика. Имеет встроенные реле обхода (до 100 Watt). Область применения – работа с трансивером или FM радиостанцией (LPD, PMR). Подойдет для радиостанций гражданского LPD диапазона (433 – 435 MHz) и PMR диапазона (446 MHz) для установки стационарно с наружной антенной и фидером. Доступны варианты исполнения на диапазоны 4m, 2m, 1.25m и 70cm.

LNA выполнен на микросхеме с высоким динамический диапазоном PGA-103+.

RF VOX предназначен для защиты от случайной подачи мощности на выход LNA. В FM можно использовать для автоматического переключения LNA в режим ТХ (до 50 Watt). Владельцам портативных FM (LPD, PMR) радиостанций достаточно установить усилитель в разрыв фидера и подать питание. Коммутация RX/TX происходит автоматически.

Моделирование LNA

К сожалению Mini-circuits не предоставил S2P файлы для микросхемы PGA-103+. Моделирование провел для аналогичной микросхемы SPF5122z.

Схема LNA-2m и фильтра представлены на Рис. 1.1 и Рис. 1.2

Схема LNA 2m

Рис. 1.1 Схема LNA-2m

Схема фильтра LNA 2m

Рис. 1.2 Схема фильтра LNA-2m

Результаты моделирования на примере LNA-2m (Рис. 2.1, Рис. 2.2, Рис. 2.3, Рис.2.4)

График КСВ

Рис. 2.1 График КСВ

График NF

Рис. 2.2 График NF

График устойчивости

Рис. 2.3 График устойчивости

График АЧХ

Рис. 2.4 График АЧХ

Согласно результатам моделирования: NF < 0.3 dB, КСВ по входу и выходу не превышает 1.5. Gain = 23 dB, абсолютно устойчив.

Конструкция LNA 2m

LNA содержит входную согласующе-трансформирующую цепь, активный элемент PGA-103+, интегральный стабилизатор напряжения 6 V, полосовой фильтр, реле обхода AXICOM IM2, элементы RF VOX и цепь питания по фидеру снижения (Рис. 3). Номиналы элементов входной согласующей цепи и фильтра зависят от диапазона рабочих частот. Питание LNA от источника постоянного тока VDC = 12 V. Предусмотрена возможность подачи напряжения питания по RF фидеру от трансивера или посредством инжектора питания.

Принципиальная схема LNA-2m представлена на Рис. 3

Принципиальная схема LNA 2m

Рис. 3 Принципиальная схема LNA-2m

Без питания LNA работает в режиме «bypass» – мощность передатчика транзитом через LNA поступает в антенну. В режиме приема LNA отключен. При подаче питания – режим RX. Для коммутации LNA необходимо снять с него питание прежде чем на его выход поступит мощность передатчика. Если включить ТХ без отключения питания LNA – коммутация произойдет посредством RF VOX. Следует понимать, что в случае работы RF VOX реле переключаются под RF нагрузкой. По этой причине мощность передатчика не должна превышать 50 Watt.

Мною успешно испытана работа LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX с трансивером IC910H, 100 Watt. Однако не рекомендую постоянно использовать RF VOX с такой мощностью. При плохом КСВ антенны могут быть проблемы с контактами реле.

Плата размерами 60 х 32 mm на материале FR4, 1mm, с металлизацией отверстий и маской.  Индуктивности фильтра SMD 0805 с высокой добротностью. Входная индуктивность намотана проводом 0.8 mm.

Печатная плата LNA-2m представлена на Рис. 4

Печатная плата LNA 2m

Рис. 4 Печатная плата LNA-2m

Корпус LNA выполнен из алюминиевой плиты Д16 фрезерованием на станке с ЧПУ. Разъемы N-типа «гнездо». Питание через проходной конденсатор на корпусе или по RF фидеру снижения.

Заключение

При работе без РА с трансивером или FM радиостанцией минимальные затраты на установку. Защита от случайно подачи мощности передатчика на выход LNA повышает надежность эксплуатации. RF VOX для режима FM позволяет обойтись без коммутации режимов RX/TX по питанию. Подойдет для радиостанций гражданского LPD диапазона (433 – 435 MHz) и PMR диапазона (446 MHz) для установки стационарно с наружной антенной и фидером.

Технические характеристики LNA-2m

  • Model: LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX
  • Active element: PGA-103+
  • RF Power TX mode: 100 W (max), 50 W RF VOX
  • Gain: 22 dB
  • Noise Figure: < 0.6 dB
  • Output IP3: 38 dBm
  • P input: 21 dBm (max)
  • DC voltage: 12 V
  • DC current: 150 mA
  • Impedance: 50 ohms
  • RF connectors: N-female или SMA-female
  • Размеры: 110 mm x 43 mm x 20 mm (with connectors)
  • Вес: 0.15 kg

Данный набор содержит

  • 1 x LNA-2m-100W-RF-VOX

Технические характеристики LNA-70cm

  • Model: LNA-70cm-75W-RF-VOX
  • Active element: PGA-103+
  • RF Power TX mode: 75 Watt (max), 50 Watt RF VOX
  • Gain: 20 dB
  • Noise Figure: < 0.8 dB
  • Output IP3: 39 dBm
  • P input: 21 dBm (max)
  • DC voltage: 12 V
  • DC current: 150 mA
  • Impedance: 50 ohms
  • RF connectors: N-female или SMA-female
  • Размеры: 110 mm x 43 mm x 20 mm (with connectors)
  • Вес: 0.15 kg

Данный набор содержит

  • 1 x LNA-70cm-75W-RF-VOX

LNA на другие диапазоны изготавливаются по предварительному заказу. Все LNA идут с N-female разъемами по умолчанию. Если вам нужны SMA разъемы или другие нестантартные разъемы – изготовление возможно только по предзаказу.

Для заказа, напишите письмо на e-mail logo sales@vhfdesign.com или заполните эту форму.

Техническая поддержка: e-mail logo us4ici@vhfdesign.com

Оставить комментарий